Casting On for the KAL

Chrissy’s Crafting Library KAL launched yesterday, and I was totally prepared. Pattern: check. Yarn: check. Needles: check*. I had packed everything together in a new project bag in order that I could cast on in the car on the way back from a week’s holiday in Suffolk.

 

In the event, I cast on this morning instead. This will be my first time using a charted pattern, first time using 3-ply yarn, and first time knitting all-over lace, and I decided that I wanted to afford it proper concentration instead of getting distracted by trying to keep everything in my lap every time the car went round a bend.

But the upshot to all of this is that I am in! I have knitted the first tentative rows of Ysolda Teague’s Orchid Thief Shawlette pattern from Brave New Knits, and I’m really quite excited. The fact that I am under no pressure to finish quickly will definitely help too.

IMG_6700 (600 x 450)

 

D’you want to join in? Click on the button below to find out what it’s all about!

STCLKAL Button

*There is a story here involving my complete and utter lack of ability in taking care of my belongings, but it’s neither important nor that interesting – suffice to say that I don’t normally knit on wooden tips.

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Casting On for the KAL

  1. Stitched Together September 2, 2013 at 8:26 am Reply

    Thanks for linking to the KAL post. I shall have to do a link up for blog posts.

  2. Amie Foster September 3, 2013 at 9:44 pm Reply

    What is that shiny grey yarn? It looks like Moda Vera Liquide.

    • Lucy September 4, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

      It’s actually purple – it’s the new Katia Air Lux and it’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

