Tee

I was considering calling this post “FO: Refashioned Tee”, but then decided that “FO” and “refashioned” were both slightly grand terms for what I have just done, which is essentially taking in the side seams on a bought t-shirt.*

Anyhow. Here is the original t-shirt which I bought from a stall at Camden Lock in June:

IMAG0112 (400 x 600)

 

I loved the print too much not to buy one, but the shirts were ‘one size fits all’ with a couple of different cuts to choose from. This particular cut had more fabric to play with – the problem is that its profile was shaped like 1), whereas my figure is more shaped like 2):

IMG_6736 (600 x 450)

 

So what I did is that I placed my kimono tee pattern over the front and used that to mark out a new seamline on front and back. In order to give myself a bit more ease at the hips, I used this tutorial from BurdaStyle to create neat slits at the side seams, using scraps of interfacing as my ‘facing fabric’.

And the result? Well, I now have a t-shirt which I can wear! The fit at the back isn’t great but it’s eminently wearable and I’m afraid I couldn’t be bothered to do anything about that – I couldn’t even be bothered to change my sewing machine thread from beige to ivory!

IMG_6735 (600 x 450)

Sorry for the lack of ‘good’ photos, by the way. That sort of thing just isn’t where it’s at at the minute either.

x

*We decided at a knitting evening last night that I am an ISTJ. Can you tell?!

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tee

  1. jessthetics August 19, 2013 at 12:47 am Reply

    The shape on the second t-shirt is SO much better, good job! xx

    http://www.jessthetics.wordpress.com

    • Lucy August 19, 2013 at 10:39 am Reply

      Thank you! I think the original shape would work fine as a slouchy style on a petite and boyish figure. Alas neither ‘petite’ or ‘boyish’ are adjectives that could be applied to my 6’0″ tall, curvy frame.

Leave a Reply

