WAK #6: Structured Shrug

I hear it’s summer out there in the rest of the northern hemisphere. It’s hailing outside as I type, but one can but hope that the UK’s weathermen will get the right idea soon.

So looking ahead to the summer which is surely just around the corner*, I have been pondering summer clothing and how to make it look smart. Alex commented on WAK#4 that she’s not that big on wearing sleeveless garments at work, at while I’m sure that there aren’t that many people who are actively offended by a flash of shoulder these days, I do see what she means. It’s all about looking professional.

I have found something of a solution to this in my own work wardrobe. I have a floaty, lightweight, short-sleeved white blouse that I can wear over camis when I’m in the office, buttoned or unbuttoned according to my mood – a rather excellent charity shop find, although I don’t know where it originally came from as the previous owner cut the labels out.

An alternative solution could be a knitted shrug. I really like Short Sleeved Bacall from Rowan 44 magazine. The structure of the collar and the set-in sleeves make it a bit more business-like than your classic slouchy bolero, and it would be a great garment for showcasing a brooch or pin if you were so inclined.

Photo by DutchJacky on Ravelry

The pattern is written for an aran-weight wool, but I would have thought that a DK weight with a bit of maths would work fine, as would a cotton for coolness.

Rowan 44 is now long out-of-print, alas, but all is not lost. I have personal experience of emailing Rowan via their website contact form to see if they had any hidden away back copies of another magazine. Have you seen how much people ask on eBay? I wanted to knit Freya, but not at that price! Anyway, they very kindly sent me a copy of the pattern for free via email. So you too might be lucky if a structured shrug is just what you need for summer.

*Please, oh please?

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “WAK #6: Structured Shrug

  1. Febr12 May 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm Reply

    I’m not sure about dress-codes in UK offices, but for Belgium (Brussels) it would absolutely be OK ! I think this looks very very elegant. Nice work, it’s beautiful.

    • Lucy May 24, 2013 at 11:03 am Reply

      Alas the knitting pictured is not my work!

  2. Alex May 24, 2013 at 9:42 am Reply

    🙂 I think this is a great solution. Smart without being too suit skirt.

Leave a Reply

