WAK #4: A Gathered Cami

Quick post today. Things to do, worksheets to write, people to see.

Alexandra Virgiel’s Ballet Camisole is one of the first patterns that I favourited on Ravelry. Unlike many of those early favourites (before I started to view things with more of a knitter’s eye), I still love it.

It’s a simple style with a girly twist. The front gathers are optional – you can just knit it as a scoop neck. I like the fact that although it’s a sleeveless cami, it still has that bit of shaping to lift it, and the straps are wide enough to provide plenty of bra coverage. (I have a colleague whose bra straps are constantly falling out, and it’s really not a good look for work).

Photo by ayumuinblue on Ravelry

Again this is something that I can see working well under a suit jacket. The pattern is written for sport-weight yarn, but I have some silk/linen fingering weight reserved in my name from a Ravelry destash that I’m hoping would work just beautifully.

Oh, and best of all? It’s freeee!

5 thoughts on “WAK #4: A Gathered Cami

  1. Alex May 7, 2013 at 10:35 pm Reply

    I’m big on not wearing sleeveless at work, so under a jacket I think this would look great.

  2. Stitched Together May 8, 2013 at 8:54 am Reply

    I think the gathers would make it look a bit frivolous for work, but as a plain scoop neck cami under a cardigan or jacket, it would work well.

    • Lucy May 8, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

      D’you think the gathers would work better if they weren’t in baby pink?

  3. […] the corner*, I have been pondering summer clothing and how to make it look smart. Alex commented on WAK#4 that she’s not that big on wearing sleeveless garments at work, at while I’m sure that […]

  4. […] when I posted the Ballet Camisole in my work-appropriate knitting series there was a brief debate as to whether sleeveless – […]

Leave a Reply

