WIP Detail Shot #5

The post is dedicated to Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off. I’m using the method to bind off the underbust ribbing on my Peacock Eyes Cardigan. (No, the pattern doesn’t call for underbust ribbing, you are quite correct. But due to being about 400m short of yarn for the full length cardigan, I decided to do a cropped version.)

I first used this technique on my Cinnabar neckline and I love it – it really is Surprisingly Stretchy™ and guarantees a not-too-tight bind off without having to faff about with going up a needle size or whatever. And look how crisp the corners it makes are:

IMG_6450 (600 x 450)

For those of you who are concerned: my ‘working stitch’ on the bind off is being held by one of those cool padlock-esque stitch markers, somewhat camoflaged in the photo above. I’ve discovered it’s a lot easier than relying on a single, loose stitch staying on the other end of a circular needle.

IMG_6451 (600 x 450)

I really must get some of these myself, actually. These are on loan from K, and they are fantastically useful.

There’s a way to go on the cardigan yet. I’ve got to pick up on both front edges for buttonhole bands and then use whatever yarn I have remaining to do do some short sleeves with ribbed cuffs. I’d been hoping to maintain the three-quarter sleeves of the original pattern, but alas it is probably not to be. If only I had shorter arms…

One thought on “WIP Detail Shot #5

  1. kirstinknits May 7, 2013 at 8:17 pm Reply

    I love that bind-off for pretty much everything, especially lace shawls!

Leave a Reply

