Work-Appropriate Knitwear: Where It Starts

As readers of my old blog will know, I have been thinking quite a lot recently about the desire to smarten up my work wardrobe – both in terms of quality and quantity. This is why I currently have two 4-ply cardigans on the needles. It is an insane amount of knitting, especially for a relatively new knitter like me, but these cardigans will be an investment, damnit.

I am going to propose a new mini blog series: Work-Appropriate Knitwear. Once a week, I will endeavour to do a post featuring one or two knitting patterns which can be knitted up into garments which do not scream “handmade at home” and would not look out of place in a smart office environment. Over time, it can hopefully become a useful reference for those like me who struggle with this question!

(I appreciate that not everyone works in an office, or indeed an office where you have to be smart. But if you work in a more casual setting then your options are rather greater, IMHO).

Found a great pattern that you think ought to be featured here? Email me on sewingslowly at g mail dot com . Ravelry links would be much appreciated!

Oh, and talking of 4-ply cardigans… I’ve just finished the yoke and am about to divide for the body/ sleeves:

IMG_6428 (600 x 450)

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Work-Appropriate Knitwear: Where It Starts

  1. Roobeedoo April 7, 2013 at 1:52 pm Reply

    An excellent plan!
    What’s that on your needles?

    • Lucy April 7, 2013 at 2:01 pm Reply

      Peacock Eyes Cardigan by Justyna Lorkowska. It was a “I need that pattern!” moment.

      Mine’s definitely heading in the direction of a statement piece to be paired with neutral solids for a work context… but I’m cool with that.

  2. kirstinknits April 8, 2013 at 5:16 pm Reply

    This is a great idea! There are occasional rav threads on this topic and it can be really interesting to see what’s considered appropriate in different workplaces. I work in a relatively conservative business casual office, so I am lucky enough to be able to wear most knits as long as they are on the simple, sophisticated side.

Leave a Reply

