Disappointment

Warning: blurry and wonky self-taken shots coming up

You know when you really really want something to work? And you know it’s not going to, but you keep trying anyway?

Yeah.

So, I’ve been making BWOF 03-2012-121 out of a beautifully soft poly knit remnant that I got at Abakhans, not this time but the last. I knew there wasn’t much of it but I didn’t realise quite how little until I got it home – about 85cm. But seeing as I can get a long-sleeved torso-length t-shirt out of 1m (just), I figured I’d be all right with a cropped cardigan, omitting the ties and just doing two simple rectangular panels for the midriff section.

I did my normal FBA, added my normal half inch above the bust in length, made a size 40 rather than a 38 so I could wear it as a cardigan…

IMG_6422 (450 x 600)

Admittedly I’m wearing it there with my sports bra while my normal ones are in the wash but still…

IMG_6424 (450 x 600)

…just no.

If I were feeling really conscientious, I’d finish it off and then offer it to someone else. You’re not imagining it – the midriff pieces do still need attaching. My mother-in-law is 5’2″ – alternatively I have a 5’5″ and skinny friend who is always hinting that she’d like something.

I’d hesitate to blame the pattern. It’s not Burda’s fault and I would like to try it again because I think it’s got some really great bones. I will just remember to add in plenty of length next time and to start with a bigger piece of fabric.

Do you like the skirt, by the way? I LOVE it. It’s self-made, unblogged, and is Simplicity 2608, alas now OOP I believe. Best pattern ever.

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Disappointment

  1. Carolyn April 4, 2013 at 1:55 pm Reply

    I think your skirt IS very cool. I like the plaids on the bias like that 🙂

  2. Karin April 4, 2013 at 5:01 pm Reply

    Nice to meet you! Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    I am always attracted by cross over top patterns like that, and they never work out on me. I have decided that it is just my figure.
    I agree with Carolyn, your skirt is really pretty, it caught my eye too.

  3. FO: Kirsten Kinomo Mk II | Sewing Slowly October 6, 2013 at 8:04 pm Reply

    […] remnant that I bought off eBay yonks ago. It has already featured in my wardrobe via the skirt barely mentioned here, so I had to piece the back in order to have enough for the tee. But actually I really like this as […]

Leave a Reply

