Sewing for Pleasure

It helps to have friends in the right places. S called me on Saturday evening and asked if I’d like to go to the last day of Sewing for Pleasure, a 3-in-1 show at the NEC, because she could get free tickets. Well who was I to refuse, really? Initally reluctant because of the rather dire state of my bank account (and knowing what temptation would be laid in my way from attending the same show two years ago), I decided that if I set myself a strict cash budget then I would be all right.

I’m really glad that I did go! S is the one school friend of mine who ‘gets’ my sewing and knitting thing, and the show was a perfect vehicle for wandering around, chatting, drooling over pretty fabric and generally being relaxed in pleasant company, which is always a nice way to spend a Sunday.

I didn’t take many photos of the show in general, but I did take a couple at the Craft Club booth. They were asking visitors to knit or crochet a 40st x 6-8 row rectangle, which could then be linked into a giant chain. I did one with yo/k2tog eyelets in, just because I could:

IMAG0088 (600 x 400)

They reckoned that they had 2 or 3 kilometres of chain thus far!

IMAG0091 (600 x 400)

But you’re not still reading for the knitted chains. You want to know what goodies I came home with.

So, starting small… 20 buttons.

IMG_6366 (600 x 450)

4 lace trim bundles, 2 stretch and 2 not.

IMG_6364 (600 x 450)

Yarn! I had promised myself that I wasn’t going to buy any yarn, but it was the colour of this cotton that caught my eye, and it was heavily reduced. S very kindly gave me half the cost as a belated birthday present.

IMG_6363 (600 x 450)

…and the crowing glory: 1.5m of this gorgeous plum coloured woven fabric. (I have tried and dismally failed to take a photograph which captures the true colour, hence the rather useless shot below. I think it might be somewhere between Pantone 207 and 208, but I’m going with Googled images rather than an actual colour card, so I can’t guarantee that even that is accurate).

I forget what the composition label said – I think it might be a poly/viscose mix? – but it’s a lovely weight and has an even more lovely subtle sheen to it. Combined with one of the lace trims above, I’m envisaging a nice, smart work dress – perhaps a Colette Pastille?

IMG_6371 (600 x 450)

And that, my friends, was my budget gone. I could have spent another fiver to have gone home with my purse empty, but when it came to it, nothing was calling me. There weren’t as many dressmaking fabric stalls as I remember from last time, and I think that both my yarn and fabric stashes have reached the stage that by and large I’m comfortable with what I’ve got. It’s not that I will never buy any more – but I don’t feel the need to buy for the sake of it, if you see what I mean. And that’s a good feeling.

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sewing for Pleasure

  1. Saf April 17, 2013 at 11:36 am Reply

    I’m so glad you had a good day. Which day is your day off btw?

    • Lucy April 17, 2013 at 3:33 pm Reply

      I shall FB message you 🙂

Leave a Reply

