Technical Drawings

, and Why I Wish There Was An Easier Way To Do This

When I’m deciding whether or not I want a sewing pattern, I can be a little… autistic*? I don’t look at the pretty fashion shoot that accompanies it with models and cloths and backdrops. I shoot straight to the technical drawing in order to assess the bare bones of the pattern. Do I like the shape? Can I see it working in my fabric? Can I see it working on my body, with height and curves and what have you?

This approach can be a little hit and miss. The upside is that I get to discover gems hidden behind dodgy styling or a poor fabric choice (can you see that lovely midriff panel on Vogue’s version of V8470? No, nor me, or only if I actively look for it.)

v8470v8470-1

The downside, of course, is that I miss out on the creative inspiration of seeing how someone has interpreted some lines of a piece of paper. But that’s where I rely on the sewing blogosphere to show me the error of my ways šŸ˜‰

Either way, I have decided that as a way of keeping track of my increasingly extensive Burda magazine collection, the way to go is via scans of their rather helpful summary page of technical drawings. The advantage of this approach isĀ thatĀ if I decide that I want to sew a pencil skirt, I can browse through my scans identifying candidates, without having to look through every page of every magazine in my quest for a suitable pattern. My hope is that this might encourage me to use some of the (literally) hundreds of patterns that I don’t even know that I have.

This does mean that I am committing myself to spending a rather large amount of time with the scanner and image editor in the near future. Still, I guess IĀ can’t have it both ways.

If only Burda had a comprehensive sortable database of all its magazine patterns stretching back to the early-mid 2000s, along with full-size technical drawings.

Yeah, dream on.

*I use that word inappropriately, but you know what I mean.

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Technical Drawings

  1. Jenny January 21, 2013 at 10:05 am Reply

    I think I might be going the same way. I have been offered a sewing machine on a semi-permanent loan basis, so I’ve decided to make myself a dress. So Google and I sat down to find a pattern and at first I was overwhelmed. There seemed to be a lot of stuff to sort through and it was impossible to tell whether I would actually like a pattern because fussy old me disapproved of the fabric, or the way the models were made up or photographed. But then taking the plunge and inspecting the technical drawings made me sit up and take notice of patterns I might otherwise have dismissed. Now I’m the most insanely excited not-yet-sewer you could imagine!

  2. […] I hop straight over to the French Burda site, asĀ it still hasĀ useful things like archives and technical drawings and what have you, unlikeĀ its English-speaking […]

Leave a Reply

